New Kent, Virginia Underage Possession of Alcohol Consequences

Every criminal charge carries the possibility of consequences. Underage possession of alcohol is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. As such it carries the possibility of: 

  • up to one year in jail
  • a fine up to $2500 but mandatory $500 or 50 hours of community service
  • license suspension
  • permanent criminal record

College Students May Have Additional Consequences

In addition to the above consequences, college students may:

  • lose an athletic or academic scholarship
  • get removed from a sports or athletic team
  • placed on probation

Employers Care About Criminal Offenses

Employers now are placing a greater emphasis on criminal offenses. This may be a product of the economy, or it may just be that information is more readily available than it once was. In the digital age, it is very easy to find criminal charges.

A well planned approach can often result in a dismissal of your underage possession of alcohol charge. See the following case where we got the charge completely dismissed in New Kent General District Court.

Every case is unique and past results do not guarantee or predict the future. Call today for a free consultation. 804-873-4004.

 

Contact Us

Contact Leavitt & Martin, PLLC. • Free Initial Consultations

Our office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but you can call anytime, 24 hours a day, and we can often make weekend and evening appointments available.

Offices

Midlothian

116-B Walton Park Ln.
Midlothian, VA 23114

Emporia

312 South Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Connect with Us