Consequences for Prince George County Reckless Driving Conviction
Reckless driving citations in Virginia are generally classified as Class 1 misdemeanor offenses – the highest level of misdemeanor classification. The consequences of a conviction can be significant. A traffic court judge has the discretion to sentence drivers who plead or are found guilty to penalties that can include:
- Fines (up to $2,500) and/or court fees
- Mandatory community service hours
- Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license
- Six moving violation points on your Virginia driver’s license (accumulation of which can lead to suspension or revocation of your license)
- Mandatory driver improvement classes
- Jail time of up to a year
- A criminal conviction (which can stay on your record for up to 11 years)
As a result of a conviction, you may also be hit with increased auto insurance rates or be unable to get insurance at all. You may also suffer negative employment or professional consequences (including issues with professional licensing).
If other people are injured or suffer damage to property as a result of your alleged reckless driving, you will face even harsher penalties. Virginia has many other categories of reckless driving charges that carry penalties far more severe than the Class 1 misdemeanor penalties. Consult with an attorney if your traffic ticket has “RD” printed on it, or if you have been cited for any of these specific reckless driving charges:
- Aggressive driving
- Failure to properly signal or yield
- Passing two vehicles abreast, or driving two abreast in a single lane
- Passing on a curve or on a grade
- Passing at a railroad grade crossing
- Driving with an obstructed view or impaired control of a vehicle
- Driving too fast for the conditions (even if you were not exceeding the speed limit)
- Drag racing (including aiding and abetting a drag race)
Representation of Out-of-State Clients
As frustrating as it is for Virginia drivers to have to deal with contesting a reckless driving ticket, out-of-state drivers can face even greater hurdles. It can be a costly and inconvenient process for out-of-state residents to contest a ticket for reckless driving in Virginia since this can often require multiple court appearances. The experienced attorneys at Leavitt & Martin have represented many out-of-state drivers ticketed for reckless driving in Prince George County, frequently without even needing the drivers to appear personally in court. We understand the severity of these charges and the possible consequences; we will vigorously represent your interests while minimizing the hassle and inconvenience.
We offer reasonable, transparent rates for our legal representation and a free consultation to evaluate the facts of your case. Our defense attorneys are honest, understanding, and sympathetic advocates. If you have received a ticket for reckless driving in Prince George County, Virginia, talk to us about how we can help. Call us directly at 804-873-4004 or contact us online
Experienced Reckless Driving Defense
DON’T pay a reckless driving ticket without contesting it! Doing so means you plead guilty to a Class 1 misdemeanor!
If you want to avoid potentially significant long-term negative effects on your driving privileges, your finances, and possibly even your livelihood, get advice and guidance from an experienced attorney. The lawyers at Leavitt & Martin understand local Prince George County laws and court procedures. They will use their skill and experience to defend your rights, making every attempt to reduce the effect a reckless driving conviction has on your life.
There are three potential outcomes for any reckless driving case:
Paying a ticket without contesting it means that the court will automatically enter a conviction on the charges. This is the worst possible resolution of your case, which will result in the most significant, serious consequences. Even if you appear in court, if you proceed without an attorney and try to represent yourself it is very likely the court will find you guilty as charged. To reduce your chances of being convicted and sentenced on the original charges, you must retain a good lawyer. This is even more vital if you:
- Have a pre-existing traffic conviction or otherwise poor driving record
- Are cited for driving dangerously (like swerving, tailgating, etc.)
- Face charges of speeding over 90 mph, or 30 mph or more above the speed limit
You are entitled to challenge your ticket. This means that you can appear in court and present evidence at a hearing. If the Court believes it is warranted, your reckless driving charges may be reduced to less severe charges like misdemeanor speeding, improper driving, or other non-moving violations (that don’t come with license points). For example, if you prove that your turn signal was burned out, the court might reduce a “failure to properly signal” charge to a lesser charge of driving with defective equipment. An experienced traffic attorney may be able to help reduce your charges, especially if:
- The charges against you don’t involve high speeds (for example, if your ticket is for driving 20 mph over a posted 20 mph speed limit)
- You have a previous clean driving record
- You have successfully completed a driving school course or community service since your citation
- You have skilled legal representation from a respected firm
A court doesn’t often dismiss charges entirely, but it does occasionally happen. A dismissal can be appropriate if the officer who issued the ticket made a mistake (like noting the wrong date, time, citation statute number, or violation description on the ticket) or there is a technical error or malfunction (for example, an improperly calibrated radar gun). Hiring a good lawyer can dramatically increase your chances of getting your charges dismissed.
High Rates of Success & Client Satisfaction
The skilled traffic attorneys at Leavitt & Martin have many years of experience obtaining successful results for motorists cited for reckless driving in Virginia. Recently, we obtained a reduction of a reckless driving charge to a lesser “defective equipment” charge. Because the lesser charge is a non-moving violation, the penalties were significantly reduced from those of the original reckless driving charge. Our client was very pleased about the lower penalties and no moving violation “points” – an overall excellent outcome.