Consequences for Dinwiddie County Reckless Driving Conviction
Reckless driving in Virginia is generally classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. Although this sounds minor, the consequences can be significant. A judge has the discretion under the law to sentence drivers who plead or are found guilty of various penalties, including:
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Jail time of up to a year
- Mandatory driver improvement classes
- Mandatory community service hours
- Suspension of your Virginia driver’s license
- Six moving violation points on your license (which can accumulate and lead to suspension or revocation of your license)
- A criminal conviction, which can stay on your record for up to 11 years
- Increased insurance rates or denial of vehicular insurance
- Negative employment or professional consequences (including licensing issues)
If someone is injured because of the alleged reckless driving, the possible penalties to the driver are even more severe. There are numerous types of reckless driving charges in Virginia, some of which are very serious. Consult with an attorney if your traffic ticket has “RD” written on it or if you have been charged with any of these variations.
- Aggressive driving
- Failing to signal properly
- Failure to yield
- Passing two vehicles abreast
- Driving two abreast in a single lane
- Passing on a grade or on a curve
- Passing at a railroad grade crossing
- View obstructed/control impaired
- Driving too fast for the conditions (even if not speeding)
- Racing (including aiding and abetting a drag race
High Rates of Success and Client Satisfaction
The experienced traffic attorneys at Leavitt & Martin have an established track record of securing successful results for our clients. Recently, we obtained a reduction of a reckless driving charge to a “defective equipment” charge—a non-moving violation that carries no moving violation “points.” This reduction in charges was an excellent outcome that significantly reduced the penalties from those of the original reckless driving charge.
Representation of Out-of-State Clients
It can be a major inconvenience to contest a ticket for reckless driving for out-of-state residents. Our attorneys have experience representing out-of-state drivers charged with reckless driving in Dinwiddie County, and we may be able to help you. We understand the severity of the charges and the possible consequences, and we will diligently represent your interests while minimizing the inconvenience to you. You may not even have to appear in court!
Experienced Reckless Driving Defense Lawyers
Do not pay a reckless driving ticket without contesting it in court! This is pleading guilty to a Class 1 misdemeanor!
You need advice and guidance from an attorney who is well-versed in the local laws and procedures if you want to avoid suffering potentially significant long-term consequences. The experienced attorneys at Leavitt & Martin will defend your rights and help decrease your chances of a reckless driving conviction ruining your life.
Three potential outcomes are possible when you are charged with reckless driving:
A conviction is the worst possible resolution to your case, resulting in significant, serious consequences (both direct and secondary). If you pay a ticket without contesting it, it’s the same as entering a guilty plea and the court will automatically enter a conviction. If you try to represent yourself, it’s likely the court will find you guilty as charged and enter a conviction. To reduce your chances of a conviction on the highest original charges, it’s essential to have a good lawyer—especially if you have:
- Been charged with a speed of 30 mph or more above the applicable speed limit, or over 90 mph overall
- A poor driving record
- Been charged with driving dangerously (like swerving, tailgating, etc.)
Contesting your citation may allow you to present evidence that persuades the Court to reduce your reckless driving charges to charges that carry less severe penalties. These may include speeding, improper driving, or other non-moving violations carrying no license points (such as driving with defective equipment). A skilled, experienced attorney can help reduce your charges, especially if:
- There is no high speed involved (for instance, if your citation is for driving only 10-15 mph over a low speed limit)
- You have a clean driving record
- You have successfully completed a driving school course or community service
- You have legal representation from a quality firm
Although it’s uncommon for charges to be dismissed outright, occasionally it does happen. A dismissal may be appropriate if the issuing officer has made a mistake (like entering the wrong citation number or description on the ticket) or there is a technical error (for example, the officer cannot produce a current radar calibration). Having a good lawyer can significantly increase your chances of successfully getting your charges dismissed.
We offer reasonable, transparent rates for representation and a free consultation. Our skilled defense attorneys are personable, honest, and experienced. If you have been charged with reckless driving in Dinwiddie County, Virginia, we will represent your interests and help steer you back on the road to success. Call us directly at 804-873-4004 or contact us online.