What Should You After Your First DUI Arrest?

Being arrested for driving under the influence is serious. It can leave people feeling stressed, emotional, and confused about what to do next. There are a few steps that people should take after a DUI arrest. They can help increase their chances of avoiding major penalties. To learn more about what to do after police arrest you, please contact an experienced DUI attorney. They will defend you in Court and fight for the best possible outcome.

In the meantime, here are a few to take:

Write Down What You Remember

An arrest can be an emotional experience. However, it is critical for drivers to remain calm. That way they can remember as many details as possible about the event. Afterwards, it is important for the driver to write down everything that they remember, including:

    Virginia DUI first offense

  • Where and when the stop occurred;
  • The officer’s explanation of the reason for the stop;
  • Whether the officer administered a breath test and if so, what the device looked like;
  • Any statements he or she made to the officer; and
  • Whether the officer administered any field sobriety tests, and if so, what they were.

Taking these types of notes can help drivers explain the details of the event to their attorneys. The lawyers will then be better equipped to plan a defense.

Obtain Your License

Even when a court has not convicted a person has not of driving under the influence, they will lose their license. This happens after the arrest. If it is the driver’s first offense, the suspension will last a week. However, for a second offense, the suspension lasts 60 days or until the trial starts. In order to get a license back, the driver will need to pick it up at the General District Court clerk’s office. Keep in mind that drivers will not be able to drive until they actually have their license in hand. So if you were arrested for driving under the influence, you’ll need to get a ride to the courthouse to pick up your license.

Arraignment

Eventually, the court will schedule the driver’s arraignment. This is essentially a status hearing. At the arraignment, the driver hears their charges. In addition, the judge explains the potential consequences of conviction. The judge will also ask the defendant if they intend to hire an attorney. Finally, they will inform the driver of the official trial date.

Hire an Experienced DUI Attorney

One of the most important steps to take after a Virginia DUI arrest is to retain an attorney. You need someone who can defend your interests in court. There are a lot of attorneys out there, so it’s critical to do careful research. Ensure that a lawyer has experience representing defendants charged with DUIs. Attorneys need to have a thorough understanding of the breathalyzer and blood tests. In many cases, a defendant’s strongest argument is that the officer administers the test incorrectly. Also, they may argue the officer gave the test too late.

Contact a Virginia DUI Attorney Today

To learn more about what to do after a DUI arrest, please contact a member of the legal team at Leavitt & Martin, PLLC by calling (804) 873-4004 today. Our Virginia DUI lawyers have extensive experience representing clients in court.

Contact Us

Contact Leavitt & Martin, PLLC. • Free Initial Consultations

Our office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but you can call anytime, 24 hours a day, and we can often make weekend and evening appointments available.

Offices

Midlothian

116-B Walton Park Ln.
Midlothian, VA 23114

Emporia

312 South Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Connect with Us