What is the Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia?

At Leavitt & Martin, we have handled thousands of reckless driving Virginia cases, so we can often estimate what the fine will be. We specialize in reckless driving Virginia cases, and other traffic matters such as DUI, speeding tickets in Virginia, and other traffic tickets. We know what to expect when discussing reckless driving Virginia fine amounts.

VA Reckless Driving Fine

What is my Virginia Reckless Driving Fine?

Reckless Driving Virginia Fines Range Depending on the Facts

On the one hand, this is a very simple question to answer. The short answer is, $0-2500. That is correct, your fine could be as low as $0 or as high as $2500. There is a Virginia “prepayment” of fine schedule, but it does NOT apply to reckless driving. Reckless driving is not a “prepayable” offense because it is a criminal misdemeanor, and not simple speeding.

So where does the fine range come from for reckless driving? Virginia code 46.2-868 defines reckless driving as a class 1 misdemeanor, which has a statutory punishment:

Reckless Driving Virginia § 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor.

The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.

Reckless Driving Virginia: What Will the Fine Actually Be?

Virginia Reckless Driving fine

Virginia Reckless Driving fine

Virginia judges will determine your fine/costs on the court date. They range based on the nature of the charge, and what your driving record and past criminal record look like. In many courts where I practice, fines for reckless driving by speed often fall into the following range:

(note that these are rough estimates and rough guidelines and are not meant to predict specific fine amounts)

81 mph – 85 mph in a 70 zone: Estimated fine often $100-200

86 mph – 89 mph in a 70 zone: Estimated fine often $200-300

90 mph – 99 mph in a 70: fines vary widely once you get above 90 but often $300-600

100 mph and up: these tend to be the high fines and can range as low as $400-500 up to $2500 depending on the speed and the facts of the case

Generally the higher the speed, the worse the driving record, and the larger the speed differential (eg: 75 mph in a 25 mph zone) the fines will increase significantly. But every judge/court is different in how they assess fine/costs on Virginia reckless driving. Out of state drivers need to be wary because a conviction for even simple speeding, or reckless driving Virginia first offense can result in a license suspension in your home state depending on the speed and the state.

Reckless Driving Virginia: Talk to an Experienced Virginia Traffic Lawyer Where you Got Your Ticket

Talk to Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyer

Talk to Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyer

Daniel Leavitt and Corey Martin have successfully defended thousands of clients charged with Virginia Reckless Driving. I can often provide fairly accurate estimates based on the courts I regularly go to. Call a specialized traffic lawyer in the location where you got your ticket. They can probably provide you with a better understanding of what to expect.

The more challenging your case is (high speed, big differential, bad driving record) the more time your case will take.

 

Contact Us

Contact Leavitt & Martin, PLLC. • Free Initial Consultations

Our office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but you can call anytime, 24 hours a day, and we can often make weekend and evening appointments available.

Offices

Midlothian

116-B Walton Park Ln.
Midlothian, VA 23114

Emporia

312 South Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Connect with Us