Speeding Tickets in Hanover County

Virginia is reputed to be one of the worst places in the US to get a speeding ticket. In Hanover County, state and local law enforcement officers aggressively ticket for speeding and other moving violations, and use tools like radar detector detectors (RDDs) to thwart drivers’ efforts to avoid speed traps. Hanover County officers have been reported to work with nearby Henrico County and Virginia State police officers to clock and pull over speeders across county lines on I-295. Areas like Sliding Hill Road near Interstate 95 are also prime target locations for police officers to lie in wait for speeders who fail to notice the changing speed limits.

Featured Review

We recently engaged the services of Dan Leavitt when my son received a speeding ticket in Brunswick County. Since in the Commonwealth of Virginia, any speeding charge over 80 mph is classified as a misdemeanor reckless driving charge, we thought it would be wise to hire legal counsel to guide us through the process. Mr. Leavitt was extremely responsive and explained how the legal proceedings would work from beginning to end. After our court date, he also took time to explain the outcome and also made sure he answered any questions we had. We were very satisfied with the outcome and would not hesitate to recommend him or use him in the future.
Published:
Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Consequences for Hanover County Reckless Driving Conviction

Most reckless driving citations in Virginia are classified as Class 1 misdemeanor offenses. Even though these are relatively low-level charges, the consequences can be significant. A judge has the discretion under Virginia traffic laws to sentence drivers who plead or are found guilty to penalties including:

  • Mandatory driver improvement classes
  • Mandatory community service hours
  • Suspension of your driver’s license
  • Six moving violation points on your Virginia driver’s license (which can accumulate and lead to suspension or revocation of your license)
  • Fines of up to $2,500
  • Jail time of up to a year
  • A criminal conviction (which can stay on your record for up to 11 years)
  • Increased auto insurance rates or denial of vehicle insurance
  • Negative employment or professional consequences (including licensing issues)

If someone is injured because of your alleged reckless driving, the possible penalties you face will be even more severe. Virginia has many other categorizations of reckless driving charges that can elevate the penalties far above Class 1 misdemeanor penalties. Some of these are very serious. Consult with an attorney if your traffic ticket has “RD” written on it, or if you have been cited for any of these variations:

  • Aggressive driving
  • Failing to properly signal
  • Failure to yield
  • Passing two vehicles abreast
  • Driving two abreast in a single lane
  • Passing on a grade or on a curve
  • Passing at a railroad grade crossing
  • View obstructed or control of vehicle impaired
  • Driving too fast for the conditions (even if not speeding)
  • Racing (including aiding and abetting a drag race)

High Rates of Success and Client Satisfaction

The traffic attorneys at Leavitt & Martin have a long track record of obtaining successful results for our clients. Recently, we secured a reduction of a reckless driving charge to a “defective equipment” charge. This lesser charge is a non-moving violation that carries no moving violation “points,” so it significantly reduced the penalties from those of the original reckless driving charge. This was an excellent outcome for our client.

Representation of Out-of-State Clients

We understand how inconvenient it can be for out-of-state residents to contest a ticket for reckless driving in Virginia. Whether you were driving through Hanover County for business or leisure travel when you were ticketed, it can be a pain to come back for repeat court appearances. Our attorneys have experience representing out-of-state drivers charged with reckless driving in Hanover County. We understand how serious the charges that you’re facing are and the possible consequences, and you can trust us to represent your interests while minimizing the inconvenience to you. It is possible that you will not have to spend time at the courthouse!

Do not pay a reckless driving ticket without contesting it in court! If you do so, you plead guilty to a Class 1 misdemeanor!

If you want to avoid potentially significant long-term consequences against your license, your wallet, and possibly your professional reputation, you need advice and guidance from an attorney who understands the local laws and procedures. The experienced traffic attorneys at Leavitt & Martin will defend your rights and help reduce the effects of a reckless driving conviction on your life.
When you are ticketed for reckless driving, there are three potential outcomes for your case.

Conviction:

A conviction is the worst possible resolution to your citation. It will result in significant, serious consequences (both immediately and collaterally). If you pay a ticket without contesting it, the court automatically enters a conviction against you. If you appear in court and try to represent yourself, without an attorney, it’s likely the court will find you guilty as charged and enter a conviction. To reduce your chances of a conviction on the original charges, it’s essential to retain a good lawyer—especially if you have:

  • Been charged with a speed of 30 mph or more above the applicable speed limit, or over 90 mph overall
  • A pre-existing poor driving record
  • Been charged with driving dangerously (like swerving, tailgating, etc.)

Reduction:

Contesting your ticket allows you to present evidence that may persuade the Court to reduce your reckless driving charges to charges with less severe penalties. Lesser charges may include speeding, improper driving, or other non-moving violations that don’t apply points (like driving with defective equipment). An understanding, experienced attorney can help reduce your charges, especially if:

  • Your charges don’t involve high speeds (for instance, if your ticket is for driving 20 mph over a 20 mph speed limit)
  • You have a clean driving record
  • You have successfully completed a driving school course or community service
  • You have quality legal representation from a respected firm

Dismissal:

Although it’s uncommon for a court to dismiss charges outright, it does occasionally happen. A dismissal can be appropriate if the officer who issued the ticket made a mistake (like entering the wrong citation number, date, or violation description on the ticket) or there is a technical error (for example, a malfunctioning radar gun). Retaining a good lawyer can significantly increase your chances of getting your charges dismissed.

Quality Representation

We offer transparent, reasonable rates for representation and a free consultation. Our skilled defense attorneys are honest, understanding, and experienced. If you have been charged with reckless driving in Hanover County, Virginia, we will represent your interests and help you get back on the road to success. Call us directly at 804-873-4004 or contact us online.

Contact Us

Contact Leavitt & Martin, PLLC. • Free Initial Consultations

Our office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but you can call anytime, 24 hours a day, and we can often make weekend and evening appointments available.

Offices

Midlothian

116-B Walton Park Ln.
Midlothian, VA 23114

Emporia

312 South Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Connect with Us