Reckless Driving Tickets in Mecklenburg

Virginia is known for some of the harshest reckless driving laws in the country, and it’s serious about enforcing them. The Commonwealth’s traffic laws are routinely and strictly enforced by both Virginia state police and county law enforcement officers in Mecklenburg County, both on the interstate highways and the smaller county roads. You can be ticketed for reckless driving—usually a Class 1 misdemeanor charge—if you are traveling either 20 miles per hour or more over the applicable speed limit, or over 80 miles per hour (regardless of the speed limit). This means that on major interstate highways with a 70-mph speed limit, like I-85, going only 11 mph over the limit can result in inordinately high penalties. On some of Mecklenburg County’s more rural roads and around its small towns, the speed limits can vary significantly, dropping to 20 or 25 mph from 40 or 45 mph suddenly. It’s easy for drivers who aren’t familiar with the local roads to exceed the speed limit by 20 mph and pick up a reckless driving ticket.

Mecklenburg Reckless Driving Cases Reduced

If you are convicted of reckless driving in Virginia you will have a permanent criminal record. And you can get this permanent record simply for going 81 mph in a 70. To make matters worse, once Virginia notifies your home state about the conviction for reckless driving you might get your license suspended.

In order to avoid these, and other potential consequences you will need to do your best to get your Mecklenburg, VA reckless driving charge reduced. Recently we went to court and got five reckless driving charges in Mecklenburg reduced. The speeds ranged from 82 mph in a 70 to 90 mph in a 70. As you can imagine, the faster you are are going the more challenging the case is.

You can view our RECENT case results HERE.

The bottom line is that Mecklenburg VA reckless driving tickets are important to take care of. We can frequently help avoid some of the harsh consequences that frequently happen for reckless driving by speed in Virginia.

REPRESENTATION BY QUALIFIED ATTORNEYS

Call a Mecklenburg, Virginia reckless driving lawyer for a free consultation. We guarantee you will not speak with a legal assistant, or an associate attorney. You will speak with either Daniel Leavitt or Corey Martin about your case personally. We will give you a very good idea of what to expect in your case. You can reach us at 8048734004 directly. Or feel free to email us the details of your case as well and we are happy to respond.

 

Featured Review

I was driving 87 in a 70 zone and was pulled over for Reckless Driving. I only realized the seriousness of the charge later when I reached home. Needless to say, I've had a sleepless night. After reading many good reviews here, I reached out to Mr. Leavitt to represent me. The fee is very reasonable. Mr. Leavitt successfully modifies the charge to a non-moving violation. I was very happy and relieved with the outcome. I would recommend him to anyone looking for efficient, quality legal representation.
Published:
Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Consequences for Mecklenburg County Reckless Driving Conviction

Most Virginia reckless driving citations are classified as Class 1 misdemeanor offenses. Although these are relatively low-level charges, they can still result in a criminal conviction, which can stay on your record for up to 11 years. A judge has the discretion under Virginia laws to sentence drivers who plead or are found guilty to a wide range of penalties, including:

  • Fines of up to $2,500
  • Suspension of your driver’s license
  • Six moving violation points on your Virginia driver’s license (which can accumulate and lead to suspension or revocation of your license)
  • Mandatory driver improvement classes
  • Mandatory community service hours
  • Increased auto insurance rates or denial of vehicle insurance
  • Jail time of up to a year
  • Negative employment or professional consequences (including licensing issues)

If someone is injured because of your reckless driving, the applicable penalties are even more severe. Virginia has numerous other categorizations of reckless driving that elevate the charges far above Class 1 misdemeanor (with commensurately increased penalties). Some of these are very serious. Retain an attorney if your traffic ticket has “RD” written on it; this indicates that you are facing reckless driving charges. Especially serious variations of reckless driving charges include:

  • Aggressive driving
  • Failing to properly signal
  • Failure to yield
  • Passing two vehicles abreast
  • Passing a stopped school bus
  • Driving two abreast in a single lane
  • Passing on a grade or on a curve
  • Passing at a railroad grade crossing
  • Passing an emergency vehicle
  • View obstructed or control of vehicle impaired
  • Driving too fast for the conditions (even if not speeding)
  • Racing (including aiding and abetting a drag race)

Representation of Out-of-State Clients

It can be a major inconvenience for out-of-state residents to contest any kind of traffic ticket in Virginia courts, but reckless driving charges can put you between a rock and a hard place. If you were driving through Mecklenburg County for business or leisure travel when you were ticketed, it may not be convenient to come back to the area for repeat court appearances. Our attorneys have experience representing out-of-state residents charged with reckless driving in Mecklenburg County. We understand the severity of the charges you’re facing and the possible penalties, and we will steadfastly represent your interests while minimizing the inconvenience to you. Depending on the facts of your case, you may not even need to appear in court!

High Rates of Success and Client Satisfaction

The traffic attorneys at Leavitt & Martin have a long, successful track record of obtaining good results for our clients. Recently, we were able to successfully argue for a reduction of a reckless driving charge to a “defective equipment” charge. The lesser charge that was entered is a non-moving violation that carries no moving violation “points.” Because of this, the client’s penalties were significantly less than those she faced with the original reckless driving charge. This was an excellent outcome.

Experienced Reckless Driving Defense

Do not pay a reckless driving ticket! If you do so, you lose your right to contest it in court and plead guilty to a Class 1 misdemeanor!

If you want to avoid potentially significant long-term consequences, which can be devastating to your driver’s license, your wallet, and even your personal and professional reputation, you need advice and guidance from an experienced attorney. The traffic attorneys at Leavitt & Martin understand the local laws and procedures. They will defend your rights and do everything in their power to help reduce the potentially disastrous effects of a reckless driving ticket.
After you are ticketed for reckless driving, there are three potential outcomes to your case.
Conviction: A conviction is the worst possible resolution for a reckless driving charge. It results in significant, serious consequences (both immediately and for years to come). If you pay a ticket without contesting it, a conviction is automatically entered against you. If you appear in court and try to represent yourself to challenge your citation, without an attorney, it’s likely the court will find you guilty as charged and enter a conviction. To reduce your chances of being convicted on the original charges, retain an experienced lawyer—especially if you have:

  • Been charged with exceeding the speed limit by 30 mph or more or traveling over 90-mph
  • A pre-existing poor driving record or other traffic convictions
  • Been charged with dangerous driving (swerving, tailgating, etc.)

Reduction:

Contesting your ticket means that you have the opportunity to present evidence to the Court. One possible outcome of contesting a ticket can be a reduction of your reckless driving charges to charges with less severe possible penalties. Examples of lesser charges include speeding charges with lower penalties, improper driving charges, or other non-moving violations that don’t carry license points (like driving with defective equipment). An experienced attorney can help you seek a reduction in your charges, especially if:

  • The charges don’t involve high speeds (for example, if you have been cited for driving 20 mph over a 20-mph speed limit, so traveling only 40 mph)
  • You have a clean driving record
  • You have successfully completed a driving school course or community service

Quality legal representation from a respected firm can dramatically improve your chances of getting a reduction.

Dismissal:

Although it’s not common for a court to dismiss charges outright, it does happen occasionally. The court may enter a dismissal if the officer who issued the ticket made a mistake (like writing down the wrong citation number, date, or violation description on the ticket) or there is another kind of technical error (for example, a malfunctioning radar gun). Representation by a good lawyer can significantly increase your chances of getting your charges dismissed.

Contact Us

Contact Leavitt & Martin, PLLC. • Free Initial Consultations

Our office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but you can call anytime, 24 hours a day, and we can often make weekend and evening appointments available.

Offices

Midlothian

116-B Walton Park Ln.
Midlothian, VA 23114

Emporia

312 South Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Call for an Appointment

Connect with Us