Consequences for Chesterfield Reckless Driving Conviction
Reckless driving in Virginia is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. Penalties can be severe, including the following possible sentences:
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Suspension of your Virginia driver’s license
- Six moving violation points on your license
- A criminal conviction (which can stay on your record for up to 11 years)
- Jail time of up to one year
- Mandatory community service hours
- Mandatory driver improvement classes
- Increased insurance rates, or denial of insurance coverage
- Negative employment or professional consequences
If someone is injured, penalties can be even more severe. There are many types of reckless driving charges in Virginia; you should consult with an attorney if you are charged with any of the variations listed below or if your ticket has “RD” written on it.
- View obstructed/control impaired
- Passing two vehicles abreast
- Passing on a grade or on a curve
- Driving two abreast in a single lane
- Passing at a railroad grade crossing
- Failing to signal properly
- Driving too fast for the conditions (even if you weren’t speeding)
- Failure to yield
- Racing (including aiding and abetting a drag race)
- Aggressive driving
High Rates of Success and Client Satisfaction
The attorneys at Leavitt & Martin have a track record of securing successful results for clients. Recently, we succeeded in reducing a reckless driving charge to a “defective equipment” charge—a non-moving violation that carries no moving violation points. This significant reduction in charges was a very good outcome for a reckless driving charge.
Representation of Out-of-State Clients
It can be a huge hassle to contest charges if you live outside of Virginia. Our attorneys often represent out-of-state residents charged with reckless driving in Chesterfield County, and we may be able to represent you. We understand the severity of the charges and what’s at stake, and we will do everything possible to represent your interests while reducing your inconvenience.
Experienced Reckless Driving Defense
Do not submit payment for a reckless driving ticket! This means that you are pleading guilty to a Class 1 misdemeanor!
You need experienced legal representation from a lawyer that knows the local laws and procedures to avoid suffering the serious, long-term consequences of a reckless driving conviction. The skilled attorneys at Leavitt & Martin will defend your rights and help decrease your chances of life-changing consequences.
There are three potential outcomes for a reckless driving charge:
You should try to avoid a conviction at all costs because of the potential consequences (both direct and secondary). If you prepay a ticket (e.g., by sending payment by mail), you plead guilty and the court automatically enters a conviction. A conviction is also likely if the following circumstances are present, especially if you try to represent yourself. A good lawyer is essential if you have:
- Been charged with a speed of 30 mph or more above the applicable speed limit, or over 90 mph
- A poor driving record
- Been charged with driving dangerously, e.g., swerving, tailgating, etc.
If you contest a reckless driving charge, the court may choose to reduce your charge to a charge with less severe penalties. An effective attorney can help reduce your reckless driving charges to simple speeding, improper driving, or a non-moving violation that carries no points (such as driving with defective equipment). A reduction is more likely when:
- There is no high speed involved (e.g., driving only 10-15 mph over a low speed limit)
- A driver has a clean driving record
- A driver successfully completes a driving school course or community service
- The driver has legal representation from a quality firm
An outright dismissal of your charges doesn’t happen very often, but it can occur. Typically, a dismissal is appropriate if there is a technical error (for example, the ticketing officer has an expired radar calibration) or makes a mistake (like pulling over the wrong car). Having a good lawyer can increase your chances of successfully getting a dismissal.
We offer reasonable rates and a free consultation. We are honest, transparent, and skilled defense attorneys. If you have been charged with reckless driving in Chesterfield County, Virginia, we will defend your interests and help you come to the best possible resolution. Call us directly at 804-873-4004 or contact us online.