Consequences for Amelia County Reckless Driving Conviction
Reckless driving in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Penalties can include the following severe, long-term
- Jail time of up to one year
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Suspension of your driver’s license
- Six moving violation points on your license
- A criminal conviction (which can stay on your record for up to 11 years)
- Mandatory community service hours
- Mandatory driver improvement classes
- Increased insurance rates
- Negative employment consequences
There are many types of reckless driving charges in Virginia, which can be confusing. If you are charged with any of the variations listed below, or if your ticket has “RD” written on it, you should seek legal representation.
- Passing on a grade or on a curve
- View obstructed/control impaired
- Passing two vehicles abreast
- Driving two abreast in a single lane
- Passing at a railroad grade crossing
- Failing to give proper signals
- Driving too fast conditions
- Failure to yield
- Racing; aiders or abettors; seizure of motor vehicle
- Aggressive driving
High Rates of Success and Client Satisfaction
We have a track record of securing successful results for clients. Recently, we succeeded in having a reckless driving charge reduced to a “defective equipment” non-moving violation. This charge carries no moving violation points, so despite not being a dismissal, it is a very good outcome for a reckless driving charge.
Representation of Out-of-State Clients
We often represent out-of-state residents charged with reckless driving in Amelia County. If you are a non-resident driver charged with reckless driving in Amelia County, we may be able to represent you. We understand the severity of the charges and what’s at stake, and we will do everything possible to help you mitigate the damage.
Experienced Reckless Driving Defense
Do not send in payment for a reckless driving ticket! If you do, you are pleading guilty to a Class 1 misdemeanor!
To avoid suffering the serious, long-term consequences of such a conviction, you will need local legal help. The skilled attorneys at Leavitt & Martin will help defend your rights and decrease your chances of severe consequences.
When you are charged with reckless driving, your case can have one of three outcomes.
You should avoid convictions at all costs because of their potential consequences. If you prepay a ticket, you plead guilty and the court enters a conviction. Courts also usually enter convictions when some of the following circumstances are present. A good lawyer can help you avoid a conviction, even if you have
- Been charged with a speed over 90 mph, or 30 mph above the speed limit
- A poor driving record
- Been charged with driving dangerously, e.g., swerving, tailgating, etc.
A reduction means that the court reduces your charge to a lesser infraction. If you are charged with reckless driving, the court may reduce your charges to simple speeding, improper driving, or a non-moving violation that carries no points (such as driving with defective equipment). Reductions can occur when:
- There is no high speed involved (driving only 10-15 mph over the limit)
- The driver has a clean driving record
- A driver successfully completes a driving school course or community service
- The driver has legal representation from a quality firm
Dismissals are rare, but they can occur. Typically, a dismissal can happen in the event of a mistake by the officer such as an expired radar calibration or pulling over the wrong car. Having a good lawyer can increase your chances of dismissal.
We are honest, transparent, and skilled defenders. If you have been charged with reckless driving in Amelia County, we can help you come to the best possible resolution. Call us directly at 804-873-4004 or contact us online.