Dismissed Petit Larceny Charge
Virginia Petit Larceny Law: Code of Virginia > 18.2-96. “Any Person Who:
- Commits larceny from the person of another of money or other thing of value of less than $5, or
- Commits simple larceny not from the person of another of goods and chattels of the value of less than $200, except as provided in subdivision (iii) of § 18.2-95, shall be deemed guilty of petit larceny, which shall be punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor.
(Code 1950, § 18.1-101; 1960, c. 358; 1966, c. 247; 1975, cc. 14, 15; 1980, c. 175; 1992, c. 822.)”
Petit Larceny, although a seemingly petty crime, is punishable by up to one year in prison and/or a $2500. If convicted, it will show up on your criminal record. Employers, as well as anyone else doing a background check, will see the misdemeanor conviction.
Today in Hopewell General District court I represented a defendant facing a Petit Larceny charge. I was able to work out an agreement with the prosecutor to allow for my client to have his charge dismissed.