Many People Ask Me: What is the Average Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia?
At Leavitt & Martin, we specialize in Virginia reckless driving and traffic tickets. Having successfully defended over 5,000 clients charged with Virginia reckless driving, we are well equipped to answer the question of what the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia is. Before we answer the question, you need to know the consequences of a Virginia reckless driving conviction before we talk about the average fine for Virginia reckless driving.
Consequences First, Then Discussion of the Average Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia
I take too many phone calls from people who were found guilty of Virginia reckless driving, and they call me after the fact. I took two phone calls today, one from 12 years ago! Another call was someone from 8 months ago who is having trouble finding a job due to the conviction. So let me get to the consequences of Virginia reckless driving first and then get to the average fine for Virginia reckless driving second.
Here are consequences for Virginia reckless driving:
- permanent criminal record that never goes away and can never be expunged if you are convicted of Virginia reckless driving
- employment issues because the misdemeanor shows up on background checks
- insurance issues
- rates double, triple, or you get dropped from coverage
- license suspension
- jail time depending on the facts of the case and the speed
- high fines
- 6 demerit points for 11 years
- immigration issues
- keeping and maintaining a visa
- green card issues
- permanent residency issues
Average Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia if you Cannot Get it Reduced
If you find yourself in the position where you cannot go to court yourself, or hire a lawyer to go for you. Or your driving record is bad, or the speed is too high, or you just don’t have an easy judge, then you will likely be looking at paying a fine for reckless driving in Virginia. So what is the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia?
Many people mistake reckless driving for speeding. Virginia speeding has a uniform prepayable schedule the courts follow if you prepay a ticket. You will not locate a prepayable amount for Virginia reckless driving because it is not a prepayable offense in Virginia.
Based on my experience handling thousands of Virginia reckless driving tickets, I will provide a table of the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia. This is estimated, and is by no means authoritative. It may very well be plain wrong. So do not rely on it. It is meant to give you a general idea of the fine amount based on the judges where I practice but your judge may be COMPLETELY different. So ask a lawyer who regularly practices in the location where you got your ticket to get a better idea of the average fine for Virginia reckless driving.
Table Showing Average Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia, Estimated
As noted, do not rely on this. This is an estimate based on where I practice law and it might not be correct for your case.
Average Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia
SPEED ESTIMATED FINE FOR RECKLESS DRIVING IN VIRGINIA AMOUNT
81-85 mph in 70 zone $100-200
85-89 mph in 70 zone $150-300
90-94 mph in 70 zone $300-500
95-99 mph in 70 zone $400-750
100 mph and up $500-1500
Factors that sometimes influence the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia:
- driving history
- military service
- reason for speeding
- calibration showing speedometer not reading right
Some judges do not look at or consider these factors, but others do. The average fines from the table above for Virginia reckless driving are guidelines. Most of the judges I know operate within these ranges but I know judges who give fines of $250 at 81 mph, and I know others who give fines of $50-75. So these are just average reckless driving fines based on MOST judges where I practice, and based on your AVERAGE driver with a decent driving record.
Do Out of State Drivers Have to Come to Court? Can Out of State Drivers Just Pay the Fine?
If you pay your fine/costs and do not get your reckless driving charge reduced then you are pleading guilty to reckless driving and giving yourself a permanent criminal record. In addition, many states will SUSPEND YOUR LICENSE automatically for any conviction of reckless driving if you are an out of state driver.
Anyone charged with reckless driving should ask if they want the following potential consequences:
- permanent criminal record that never goes away and can never be expunged
- potential license suspension
- potential increase in insurance
- rates double
- rates triple
- dropped from insurance coverage
As a Virginia traffic lawyer, I would NEVER recommend anyone just pay the fine for reckless driving. I have taken too many phone calls 6 months later, 9 months later, several years later, and even over 10 years AFTER someone paid the fine for reckless driving and did not contest the charge and they call me trying to fix it. At that point it is TOO late and I cannot help.
Call an attorney who regularly practices in the court you got your Virginia reckless driving ticket. They can advise more specifically as to the average fine for reckless driving in Virginia.