Virginia State Police Investigating Hit and Run

*UPDATE VIRGINIA STATE POLICE STILL SEEKING ASSISTANCE FROM THE PUBLIC

VSP Continues to Seek the Public’s Assistance in Locating Suspect in Fatal Hit-and-Run in York County

A week ago today, York County, Virginia resident Brian L. Utne, was killed on his way home in a motor vehicle accident on Lakeside Drive. The unknown vehicle fled the scene and has yet to be found.

On October 25, 2018, the State Police Accident Reconstruction team was called to the scene at Lakeside Drive and Yorkville Road to investigate the scene of the crash. Based on the evidence on the scene, it has been determined that Mr. Utne was struck by a large Ford vehicle – possibly an Excursion or large Ford truck that was manufactured between the years of 1999-2001.

The vehicle is grey in color. It should have damage to the front end bumper, marker lights, and possibly front right quarter panel damage.

State Police continue to seek the public assistance and/or witnesses to this crime. If you have any information on the possible where about of the vehicle, please contact the State Police at (757) 424-6800 or questions@vsp.virginnia.gov.

PLEASE SHARE THIS TO ANYONE WHO MAY BE ABLE TO HELP LOCATE THE DRIVER

There are only so many 1999-2001 Gray Ford Excursions on the road. And this one will have sustained damage. Please get the word out and help the VSP locate this hit and run driver.

Original post:

Police are investigating the Hit and Run death of 50 year old cyclist Brian Utne. The hit and run took place around 7:07 p.m. in York County on Thursday, October 25, 2018. Brian Utne was taken to Riverside Regional Hospital, but he did not survive.

The Virginia State Police are investigating. A grey Ford pickup truck is believed to have been involved. If you or anyone you know has information about the hit and run you can CONTACT THE VIRGINIA STATE POLICE right away.

Photos of Brian Utne posted on popular cycling training site Strava do not appear to show use of a bike camera. Front and rear cycling cameras are readily available now and could potentially assist in any road incident. As a cyclist, I know firsthand how dangerous it can be on the roadways. I began using a Cycliq Fly6, which acts as a flashing light and also a camera. I have known several other cyclists who have used this to identify reckless drivers. I would urge all cyclists to research cameras like this.

Bike Cameras

move over

law on moving over

CARS AND TRUCKS MUST GIVE CYCLISTS THREE FEET WHEN PASSING, AND PASS AT A REASONABLE SPEED

§ 46.2-839. Passing bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric power-assisted bicycle, moped, animal, or animal-drawn vehicle.

Any driver of any vehicle overtaking a bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric power-assisted bicycle, moped, animal, or animal-drawn vehicle proceeding in the same direction shall pass at a reasonable speed at least three feet to the left of the overtaken bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric power-assisted bicycle, moped, animal, or animal-drawn vehicle and shall not again proceed to the right side of the highway until safely clear of such overtaken bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric power-assisted bicycle, moped, animal, or animal-drawn vehicle.
bike move over

3 feet law

Virginia Hit and Run is a Class 5 Felony When Death Occurs

Under Virginia law, the driver of a vehicle has a duty to immediately stop where an accident like this occurs. In this situation, the driver will face a class 5 felony for the Hit and Run. A class 5 felony is punished as follows:

(e) For Class 5 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than 10 years, or in the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail for not more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

In addition to the potential felony and potential jail sentence, there is a license suspension as well for hit and run.

Passengers Also Have a Duty to Report the Accident, and it is a Felony if They Don’t

In a case like this involving death, it is a class 6 felony for passengers if they do not report the accident. Class 6 felonies are punished as follows:

(f) For Class 6 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than five years, or in the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail for not more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

Contact the Virginia State Police Right Away if You Have Information That Could Help in the Investigation

If you were a passenger, or you witnessed the incident, or if you have information about this incident you should contact the Virginia State Police to assist in the investigation.

 

 

Contact Us

Contact Leavitt & Martin, PLLC. • Free Initial Consultations

Our office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but you can call anytime, 24 hours a day, and we can often make weekend and evening appointments available.

Offices

Midlothian

116-B Walton Park Ln.
Midlothian, VA 23114

Emporia

312 South Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Connect with Us