Yes, you read that right. Virginia classifies reckless driving by speed to include driving 20 or more mph over the limit, OR anything OVER 80 mph. Therefore, if you are driving, like many people, in a 70 mph speed zone and you drive 81 mph you have violated this law.
The range of punishment for reckless driving by speed in Virginia is up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $2500, and a license suspension up to 6 months. Fortunately for every Virginia judge I have seen understands the difference between driving 81 mph and driving 100 mph. I have NEVER seen anyone get jail time for driving 81 mph.
That said, if you are convicted of reckless driving by speed, you will have a permanent criminal record. And it can never be expunged. So if you are charged with this in Virginia it is important to make sure that you don’t get convicted of a misdemeanor because of this offense.
WHAT CAN THIS BE REDUCED TO? CAN MY CHARGE BE REDUCED OR DISMISSED?
Often, these charges in Virginia DO get reduced or dismissed, especially at lower speeds like 81 mph. Call an experienced Virginia lawyer who can guide you through the process.